November 11, 2014

REVIEW: The Request Trilogy By, Marquita Valenine

 photo GR_zps5fe521f1.jpg

The Request Series, a sexy, thrilling romantic contemporary romance trilogy from NY Times Bestselling Author Marquita Valentine.

The Request

Meet Roman Smith: Shopkeeper by Day. Assassin by Night. The undercover Russian contract killer has never turned down an assignment that rids the world of scum… until his latest job targets an innocent man. Refusing is not an option, because of Everly Andrews, the sexy southern belle who saved him from dying. She's completely unaware of his double life, but has been marked as next on the kill list should he fail. Only, what The Bratva doesn't know--there’s nothing Roman won’t do to keep Everly safe.

The Deception

Drugged and deposited in a hotel in Prague, Roman must be on guard at all times in order to protect his lover, Everly Andrews, but the countdown has begun, and it won't stop until his next target, or Everly, is terminated. Can Roman protect Everly until he can eliminate the threat to her life?

The Confession

Left for dead, Roman's cover has been blown. Worse, Everly is in Viktor's evil clutches, yet believes Roman to be the bad guy. Roman can't trust anyone, not even his cousin, Benjamin, who he must team up with to rescue Everly. Will Roman get there in time to save her, or will Everly be another casualty of a family grab for power in the Bratva?

Purchase The Request Trilogy Box Set

I don’t usually review books together even if they are being released as a box set but I felt the need to do that here. These books are ones that need to be read together. I couldn’t even put space between them. I had to read them one after the other. All three books take place within hours of where the other one ended. It is one long journey that Roman and Everly take together.

Roman is an assassin. He runs a book shop during the day while he waits for contracts. His only costumer in the book shop happens to be Everly. She brings him happiness even when Roman might not deserve it. Even though Roman shuts down every time she tries to have a conversation that lasts more than two words she keeps finding herself coming back. There is something about the stuffy bookstore owner that makes her want to know more. When his mentor wants him to start blending better he takes Everly on a date and their journey only goes downhill from there.

Roman has a lot of secrets but you can feel how much he cares about Everly even though he won’t tell her or let himself acknowledge just how much he does care. He is actually really sweet and caring even though he is an assassin. Everly was really sweet. She was always there when Roman needed her even when he didn’t realize how much he needed her. I loved that the books were told from his POV. We got a chapter or two in each book through Everly’s POV but that’s it. With the story written like that I feel like it gave us a better perspective into Roman’s head. We got to really see all of the betrayal and death he has to deal with every day.

The books were well written and definitely page turners. There were so many players into the betrayal that Roman was going through that you weren’t really sure what was going on until Marquita gave you a piece of the puzzle. All three book were quick reads and definitely something I recommend readers pick up!

No comments :

Post a Comment