June 26, 2015

REVIEW: Accidentally in Love (Friends First #3) By, Laura Drewry




Fans of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery will love Laura Drewry’s warm and humorous new Friends First romance, a sexy romp about a good cop and a bad girl playing hard to get.

Ellie Palmer and cops don’t mix, and getting pulled over by Officer Brett Hale—again—doesn’t help. Neither does being forced to take a safe-driving course with him. Brett’s by-the-book attitude leaves Ellie ice-cold, and his rock-hard body won’t change that. Still, the more time she spends with the guy, the more she finds herself warming up to his unexpected charms.

Even though Brett comes off like a boy scout, Ellie has sparked something he wants badly enough to get him to rethink his past mistakes. But when her ex shows up, Brett makes it his mission to keep Ellie safe in the here and now. His gut tells him the guy’s trouble, and Ellie must agree, because she doesn’t complain when Brett pulls her close. To keep her safe, though, he’ll have to choose between breaking her heart . . . and breaking the rules.




Review
Brett Hale has a past that has shaped him. He has become a serious, precise, and sometimes cold officer of the law. Brett has learned to put safety first and puts on a cold fa├žade to keep people at bay. Brett definitely has a side that very few people see and it is completely charming. When he meets Ellie, who is the complete opposite of him, he doesn’t know how to handle her or the feelings she awakens in him. Ellie thought she left her past, and problems with the cops, behind her. With her lippy attitude and heavy foot on the peddle brings the cops right back to her door. Officer Brett keeps pulling her over and never gives her a break which drives her crazy. With their mutual friends, getting frequently pulled over, and a fake relationship brings out feelings they are not sure they are ready for.

I loved both Ellie and Brett’s characters. They are both so different but what they each needed. Ellie was sassy, strong, and kind of a wild card. Brett was an alpha that wanted to protect Ellie. They went brought each other the things they needed into their lives and really made a difference. Their relationship was a great one to follow and they definitely hade chemistry. The mandatory tie they had to spend together made them really get to know each other and chip away at each other’s walls. The slow build from animosity to friends and to something more was a slow sweet torture that made me turn the pages.

I have not read the previous books in the series but I seriously loved the cot show quotes at the beginning of the chapters. The appearance of other members from previous books definitely made me want to read more in the series. The writing itself was interesting and flawless. The story was told from dual POV and it added extra fun to the story. I would definitely recommend this to loves of the slow build and to characters that don't like each other in the beginning of the story.



Reading Order

    




Connect with Laura

Website ♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Goodreads




Giveaway!!


a Rafflecopter giveaway



2 comments :

  1. Thank you so much for hosing us today, Alexa, and for the great review! I hope you have a great weekend!

    Cheers

    Laura

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for hosting ACCIDENTALLY IN LOVE

    ReplyDelete